Tour de Fleece: Days 16, 17 & 18

Sick of my Tour de Fleece updates yet?! I do at least have some knitting to show you today, too!

But first, the spinning:

On Sunday and Monday, I worked on some Merino dyed by Melissa of Wool Therapy. Melissa has a great eye for color and does amazing gradient dyed braids. For you non-spinners out there, this basically means that the braid is dyed in just a few colors with large blocks of color. There’s a good example here. These braids are great for navajo-plying to make a yarn that will stripe when knit. Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture of the braid before I started spinning it…but here’s the finished yarn:

This skein will be making it’s way into the etsy shop┬ásometime later this week along with some other handspun and a couple of project bags.

Today I worked on some Rambouillet dyed by Two if by Hand, and spun about half the braid:

I had almost forgotten how much I love spinning Rambouillet. It has such a nice bounce to it and is incredibly soft.

Last night I started my Camp Loopy project number 2, which is a pair of cabled mittens. I’m actually using a fingerless mitt pattern from More Last Minute Knitted Gifts, but I’m going to modify the pattern to turn them into mittens.

The lovely yarn is Wool Candy Biscotti Merino, which is a sport weight yarn with fantastic stitch definition. The color is a tad more blue than in the picture, and I’ve actually separated the thumb and knit a couple more inches since the photo was taken.

I’ll do a post about the upcoming shop update tomorrow (tentatively scheduled for thursday) with details about what will be going up in the shop!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

