Tour de Fleece: Days 19-22

Let’s see….On Day 19 of the Tour de Fleece, I finished spinning up some Rambouillet that went up into the shop:

Two if by Hand Rambouillet in colorway “Albus”

On Days 20 & 21 I started spinning some fiber that has a little story behind it. When I was at Rhinebeck last fall, we had checked into the Holiday Inn and I was catching up with my very good friend Aimee. My mom sent me a text from another part of the hotel informing me that someone was giving away merino pencil roving. Now, I’m not one to pass up free fiber, so Aimee and I hightailed it out of our room to go check it out. As I was grabbing up shades of blue, Aimee grabbed up all the electric yellow roving she could find and asked me to spin it for her! I’m finally getting around to spinning it, but my retinas can only take it in small batches!

This yarn is MUCH brighter in real life, if you can believe that!

Today was Day 22 of the Tour, and I managed to spin an entire 4 ounces. I think this might be my favorite skein from the tour, and I can’t WAIT to knit it up!

Two if by Hand MCN (merino/cashmere/nylon) in colorway “Roller Rink”

This stuff spins up like a dream…and the resulting yarn is super soft, squishy, and strong. Let’s have a closer look, shall we?

I’m almost positive that I’ll knit up a pair of Toasts with this…and soon!

There’s also been a little knitting happening around these parts. I finished the first mitten for my Camp Loopy Project #2.

I’ll post more details when they’re completely finished, but I’m really pleased with how the first mitten turned out. I wasn’t sure how the top would look, since I’m using a fingerless mitt pattern as a base. But, the top ended up being perfect…and I love the fit. I hate mittens that are baggy, so I knit these a little smaller than most people probably would.

Tomorrow is the last day of the tour, but I’m not sure how much spinning I’ll be able to get done since Seth’s office is having a pool party! Hmm, maybe I’ll start another braid right now ;)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Tour de Fleece: Days 19-22

  1. Pingback: Estelle Cardigan and Roller Rink Toasts | Grey Poodle Designs

Leave a Reply

