I Wasted No Time…

breaking into my Sock Summit yarn! I’ve been searching for a while for a non-wool yarn to knit some things to wear in the warmer months. The problem I was having is that most of the non-wool yarn out there is commercially dyed, or contains acrylic. Now, don’t get me wrong, there is absolutely nothing wrong with commercially dyed yarn. But, I hadn’t been able to find a yarn that felt nice and had colors that I thought I would wear.

A few months ago Three Irish Girls¬†announced that they would be releasing some non-wool bases this summer! I figured that Sharon would bring some of these yarns to Sock Summit, so on Thursday I went to the TIG booth to find myself some summer yarns! Between Thursday and Friday I ended up with 2 different weights of cotton/bamboo yarn (50/50). When I got home this weekend, I wound up a skein of the fingering weight, picked a pattern and knit a swatch. It’s glorious to knit with. I was worried it might be a bit slippery to work with since the yarn is so smooth and has a wonderful sheen to it. But, it knits up quite easily and has amazing drape.

The last two days we’ve been having our windows replaced which gave me a really good excuse to sit on the couch and knit for 2 days straight! I wanted to stay out of the way, but needed to be here so that I could make sure Sailor was behaving himself and didn’t try and escape out the door.

I ended up making quite a bit of progress on my sweater over the last 2 days, and I’m going to try and knit the whole thing by August 15th so I can have 4 weeks to work on the final Camp Loopy project (any kind of project using 800 yards of yarn).

Wanna see the yarn and sweater so far?! Yes, of course you do!

Three Irish Girls Cotton/Bamboo Fingering in “Shale be Coming Around the Mountain” – it’s a bit lighter than in the photo

The pattern only calls for 4 buttons at the top…but I think I’m going to put them the whole way down.¬†

I’m really¬†pleased with the way it’s knitting up. The sweater is going to be extremely lightweight and perfect for chilly summer nights or days out at the coast!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

