Twigs and Willows

My needles have been clicking away and every time I sit down to blog, I’m overwhelmed with all the projects I have yet to share! So…in order to try and get back on the blogging bandwagon, I’m going to start with my newest project and toss in an older project or two!

I just put the finishing touches on this sweater today and took full advantage of the beautiful weather to get some pictures!

Pattern: Twigs and Willows by Alana Dakos from Botanical Knits

Yarn: Madelinetosh 80/10/10 Sport in Tern

Mods: I followed Alana’s directions for shaping, but added a little bit of length to the body of the sweater.

I can’t even describe to you how much I love this sweater. The sweater is knit in pieces from the bottom-up and then seamed. I was really worried as I was knitting it that it was too small, or that the fit wasn’t going to be right. I trusted my gauge swatch and measurements, and it all worked out! Alana’s patterns are expertly written and very easy to follow. If you haven’t checked out Botanical Knits, you should! There’s a good chance I’ll eventually knit all the sweaters in the book.

Since we’re talking about sweaters, I also finished another one back in February:

Pattern: Ease by Alicia Plummer

Yarn: Three Irish Girls Cary’s BFL in Chambord 

Mods: I knit this with slightly less ease than the pattern suggests. Instead of regular 1×1 rib on the hems, I did twisted rib. I need to rip out my neckline and redo it as my bind-off on one side is too tight. I’d also like to tighten up the neckline just a bit.

This is the perfect sweater to kick around the house in on lazy weekend days (or, who am I kidding, weekdays, too!).

My next project is something made for a dear friend who is expecting a baby any day now! I knit the entire thing while we were back east, since I wanted to be able to give it to her in person.

Pattern: OpArt by Melissa Dominguez

Yarn: Baah! Sonoma in Tequilla Lime and Natural 

Mods: None!

OpArt was a really fun knit that has a striking appearance once it’s off the needles.

Hopefully, I won’t let 2 months lapse before I blog again!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Twigs and Willows

  1. Aimee

    Love both the sweaters. And the blanket too, of course.

Leave a Reply

