Solstice Cardigan

My Solstice Cardigan is FINISHED! Really finished, with pockets and everything! I’ll fully admit that I wore it a couple of times sans pockets because I’m so thrilled with the sweater!

Pattern: Solstice Cardigan by Cecily Glowick MacDonald

Yarn: Quince & Co. Osprey in colorway Twig

Modifications: When I blocked my gauge swatch, it grew about 1-1.5 sts over 4 inches. I was really pleased with the fabric on the size 10.5 needles, so instead of going down a needle size, I followed the directions for the 33.5″ to get finished measurements (after blocking) of the 36.75″. My sleeves are approximately an inch shorter than called for in the pattern and I blocked the body (from the underarm to hem) about an inch and a half longer than called for. I knit for the correct number of inches knowing that I could gain some length in the blocking process.

There are so many things I love about this pattern. It was a relatively quick knit due to the use of aran weight yarn and size 10.5 needles, but it was far from boring. I loved that it was knit from the top down in one piece including the front bands. So that when you bind-off the body, you’re actually done with the body. The details in this sweater are easy to execute, but make a seemingly simple top down cardigan interesting to knit. I love the texture of the twisted stockinette stitch on the body of the sweater (you can really see the difference in this photo between the body and the sleeve stitches), though it did slow down my knitting quite a bit. The faux cable is a fun touch that doesn’t require the use of a cable needle, and is very easy to knit. And finally, I really loved the use of ribbing at the waist instead of traditional waist shaping. The pattern was well written and easy to follow, which is always nice!

Now, let’s talk about the yarn! This was my first time knitting with anything from Quince & Co. (a Maine based company that offers wool that is sourced and spun here in the US), and it certainly won’t be the last. I used Osprey, which is a 3-ply aran weight yarn that is 100% wool. It’s quite soft but feels like it will resist pilling fairly well. The stitch definition is fantastic and despite being a heavier weight yarn, it feels very airy. Quince & Co. offers a nice range of colors, and I will definitely be purchasing more of this in the future….most likely for this in the not so distant future! I already have some Quince Lark (a worsted weight yarn) to knit this, which will probably be the next sweater to hit the needles.

I know I’m going to get a TON of wear out of this sweater. It’s the perfect style for throwing over a t-shirt while hanging around the house, or wearing over something a little nicer around town.

Now I need to concentrate on finishing up the baby sweaters for the auction next weekend. I’m hoping to finish the second sweater by tomorrow night or Saturday so I have time to knit matching hats! Because, really, doesn’t every baby in a handknit sweater need a matching hat? Yes. I think so.

We’ll also be working on ripping out our deck this weekend, so stay tuned for pictures of the demolition!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Solstice Cardigan

  1. I’ve had my eye on this design. Yours came out great!

  2. It looks terrific Liz … and great on you! And I’m glad to hear your report on the Quince yarns, so thanks for that. Good luck with your weekend projects …

  3. Susie

    Liz — it’s beautiful – I just put the sleeves on holder — should move quickly from now on. Hope mine looks as good as yours!!!

  4. Liz, this is beautiful! I definitely want to knit that for myself in future! I’m so impressed that you’re spinning your own wool! Plus, you look great! (not just the cardigan, ha!)

  5. Kaitlin

    The sweater is beautiful! And, you look absolutely gorgeous in the pictures too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

