Photography Class: Day 1

I think it’s high time I share some of the photos I took during the photography class I took in Utah! For the first day of the class we met in Bryce Canyon National Park at Sunset Point in the early afternoon. We spent the first 45-minutes or so of the class learning about different settings on our cameras and the settings we would be using for the duration of the class. The weather was chilly and snowy, so we ended up hiding out under cover near the restrooms until the weather cleared up a bit. Once we all had our cameras set up (who knew I could do so many things with my camera?!), we headed over to one of the viewpoints and started clicking away.

We took photos for a while and then headed down the Navajo Loop trail to the Queen’s Garden Trail (about 3 miles round trip). We stopped several times, took out the cameras and tripods and snapped more pictures.

Once we started hiking into the canyon and taking photos, we learned how to use the split neutral density filters that were part of our required materials. It was amazing to see how much of a difference they made!

Once we finished the hike, we headed to Inspiration Point to take pictures at sunset. It was quite cloudy, so the sunset wasn’t great…but I think we all ended up with at least a few nice photos from Inspiration Point.

Of course, I have hundreds more pictures…but I thought I’d just share a few of my favorites from each day. I think my grand total was about 750 photos, which I edited down to around 120. Ha. Obviously, I won’t put you through looking at all of them!

I’ve been doing quite a bit of knitting since Seth left for China, but only have a few pictures to share.

On Thursday, I decided that I MUST. IMMEDIATELY. start knitting a pair of socks with handspun yarn. I was so focused on it all day that I managed to knit one whole sock in a day!

Basic sock in Superwash Merino, in colorway “Whiz Bangs” 

I also started spinning up some BFL/Alpaca (80/20) that I had custom dyed by the lovely ladies at Two if by Hand, in colorway “Moaning Myrtle.”

Then, this morning I decided to make some yarn wreaths for my craft room, which I plan on painting soon. I’ve had the materials for a while, and finally got around to making them today. I used the tutorial written by Sharon on the Three Irish Girls blog, and used yarn that I had leftover from a couple of projects. I always seem to have extra yarn leftover, and this is a great way to use it up!

Yarn: Three Irish Girls Adorn Sock in colorway Kate

Yarn: Madelinetosh Sock in colorway Posy…I also used some butterfly buttons that I had leftover from a baby sweater, as well as a bit of Madelinetosh Pashmina in Mansfield Garden Party for the itty bitty ball of yarn on the wreath.

Cute, right? I’m still trying to decide on a paint color for the craft room, but these will match any of the contenders. I also got lost on etsy today looking at wall decals…it’s such a slippery slope!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

