Photography Class: Day 2

Day 2 of our photography class started at 6am at Sunset Point for Sunrise. Yes. Sunset Point for SunRISE. We didn’t get many colors in the sky during sunrise, but that sure didn’t stop us from clicking away. Thankfully, my Dad had the brilliant idea of buying handwarmers the night before since it was only going to be in the high 20s for sunrise!

The clouds were amazing, and we once again made good use of our graduated density filters. It’s amazing what a difference they make!

After taking photos for a little over an hour, we took a quick break to warm up and then met at the Fairyland Loop trailhead. Now before you click on the link and become all impressed with us hiking a strenuous trail for 8-miles, let me just tell you we only hiked 3-miles total. We hiked for about 1/2 mile before stopping to set up the camera equipment. After we snapped a few pictures, it was suggested that we just carry our cameras on our tripods while we hiked since there were so many photo opportunities. Around every turn there was gorgeous scenery just begging to be photographed.

As you can see, the clouds cleared and we had GORGEOUS weather for hiking.

We hiked about 1.5 miles in, and then followed the same trail back out and were finished by noon. Later in the afternoon, we took my Mom into the park to show her the beautiful scenery. However, the farther up the road we drove, the foggier it became! On our way back down the road toward the park entrance it started snowing….and hailing. We ate dinner at the Lodge inside the park and by the time we were finished with dinner there were a couple of inches of snow on the ground already! We stopped to take a few pictures, but the fog made it difficult to get a good shot.

Hard to believe all these pictures were taken on the same day! I was able to capture some much better photos on our third day of the snow, and I’ll share those in my next post!

And…since no post would be complete without handcrafted goodness….

Pattern: Winslow Market Tote by Kathy Mack – the pattern is free!

Fabric: Nest by Valori Wells

Modifications: Let me just tell you that I am TERRIBLE at following sewing patterns. Give me any knitting pattern and I can probably figure it out. Sewing patterns? Not so much. This is an extremely well-written, very clear and easy sewing pattern. However, I overlooked one small detail. The seam allowance was 1/2″ and not 1/4″ like I’m used to using. Using the wrong seam allowance becomes problematic when you cut all the pieces as instructed and then try and make them all fit together. Oy. I ended up being able to just trim the piece for the bottom as well as the lining, and it all worked out just fine in the end.

I love the size and shape of this bag and will definitely make another one, possibly with interior pockets.

I’m slightly obsessed with this fabric line and desperately want to make this quilt. 

I’m also planning a shop update for Friday with a small selection of handspun yarn. I feel like it’s been far too long since there has been more than a skein or two up in the shop! It will probably be sometime in the morning (pacific time)…but I’ll post the specific time soon.

Here’s a little sneak peek:

Moaning Myrtle on BFL/Alpaca (80/20)

Phew. I think that’s it for now! I started a new sweater, but it doesn’t really look like anything exciting yet…but I’ll be sure to share once it looks a little more impressive!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

