Silver Falls State Park

I swear this is still a knitting/spinning/sewing/fiber arts blog! But, my knitting productivity has been a little slow with not much to show for it. Not entirely true, I guess. I do have almost a whole entire sweater body done. But I’m just getting to the fancy, pretty part…and until that part is done, there isn’t anything exciting to photograph.

So instead of knitting, I’ll show you some photos I took this week at Silver Falls State Park. On Tuesday, I headed to Silver Falls with my neighbors to do a little hiking and take some photos. We ended up seeing 4 (I think) of the 10 waterfalls and walked a couple of miles on the trails in the park. It was a rare sunny day, so even though it was the middle of the week there were a decent number of people there.

177-foot tall South Falls. See those little white specks behind the falls? Those are people walking on the trail that runs behind the falls.

One of my favorite things about living in the Pacific NW is the intense greenery that is just EVERYWHERE. Love it.

Bottom of South Falls

Lower South Falls – 93 feet tall

We spent several hours exploring, and only saw a small portion of the park. Definitely someplace I’ll be going back to!

In other news, we had a fairly uneventful Memorial Day weekend. On Saturday, Sailor and I headed up Mary’s Peak with a friend and her Border Collie. There was still a decent amount of snow, so our short hike basically consisted of us walking 1/4 of a mile and letting the dogs run wild through the snow. I’m sad I didn’t bring my camera to get their antics on film! On Sunday, Seth returned from his 10-day trip to China! He had a fantastic time, and has lots of great pictures (he took over 700!). Today was our last full day to do yard prep before Seth’s Dad arrives on Wednesday to lay stone on the patio. We picked up bags of mortar for the patio (with the help of a truck rental from Home Depot), mowed the yard, finished turning over the garden beds, bought plants and seeds, and planted. Our lovely neighbor offered to let us plant in her 2 raised beds in addition to the 2 we already have, so we ended up planting a couple of pumpkin plants over in her yard to save some room for more veggies in ours. We planted tomatoes (both cherry and regular), several kinds of peppers, lettuce, radishes, and carrots. I need to make another trip out to get a zucchini plant (only one since our one plant last summer gave us enough zucchini to last all year!) and some green bean seeds. Apparently we also have a couple of blueberry bushes that we never noticed last year. I’m going to go ahead and guess that they were hidden by the overgrown grape vines, but it’s possible we just didn’t see them back there with the raspberries, grapes, and strawberries! Ah, I love the northwest. I’m fairly sure I would not be able to keep a garden alive back east, yet last summer despite some minor setbacks our garden did pretty well!

Knitting progress pictures are coming soon!! Hope you all had a lovely weekend!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

