A wee bit of handspun

I’m sure you’re all on the edge of your seats waiting for finished patio pictures, but you’re going to have to keep waiting just a little bit longer! The patio is done, but I don’t have any pictures of it finished yet. I assure you, it’s gorgeous. And I think we’re going to be spending a ton of time out there this summer. Especially after we get a patio table and chairs!

So in the meantime, I thought I’d share a couple of skeins of handspun that I recently did for a custom order. This particular customer had a skein of handspun from Plied Together and she wanted some fiber spun up to match it. She also wanted another braid of fiber spun up….and if past behavior is any indication of future behavior I’m sure I’ll be spinning for her again soon (I’ve spun well over 2 lbs of fiber for her so far!).

Organic Merino 3-ply yarn spun from Sunshine Yarns fiber in colorway “Edward’s Volvo”

Organic Merino 2-ply spun from Sunshine Yarns fiber in colorway “Cliffdiving” 

I had never spun with anything from Sunshine Yarns before, and I think I’ll have to start stalking their shop updates. Because, I obviously don’t have enough fiber already! But seriously, this stuff was a dream to spin. Looking at the fiber in the braid I was afraid it might be a little tough to spin because it was braided so tightly and it seemed a bit compact. But I unbraided it and pulled it apart and it drafted very easily.

Well, unfortunately that’s all I have for now! I bound off my Scalene shawl/scarf today. It’s humongous! Which I think will be great…but I need to block it to even out the edges before I can tell for sure.

I’ll be spending the weekend prepping the craft room for painting on Tuesday! I need to patch the nail holes, wash the walls, tape and get a coat of primer up on the walls! Hope you all have a fun weekend!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A wee bit of handspun

  1. You know what I would love to see a pic of? Your spinning wheel! When you talk about spinning, I find it fascinating, but the only thing I can picture in my head is an old-fashioned spinning wheel like in Sleeping Beauty, and I’m sure they’ve come a long way since then!

    • I’ll try and get a glamour shot of the spinning wheel soon! If you look up “Lendrum Folding Wheel DT,” you should be able to see a picture of it. Lots of people still use traditional looking spinning wheels (like the one in Sleeping Beauty)…and while they’re really beautiful, they’re also really large!

Leave a Reply

