There’s been knitting, too!

Lots and lots of knitting, actually! I’ve been slogging through my Scalene shawl for quite some time. According to my Ravelry records, I started it back at the very end of March. Part of the reason it took so long was that I ran out of yarn and had to order another skein. More on that when I have modeled pictures, though. I bound off the shawl Friday morning, and soaked and pinned it out for blocking today.

On Friday night, I cast on for another shawl that a friend asked me to knit (Laura! Check out your shawl-in-progress!):

Sarai Shawl knit in Sanguine Gryphon Bugga! in Satin Green Forester

It’s buzzing right along, and I’m already about 1/3 of the way done!

Saturday was World Wide Knit in Public Day (for real!) and there was a tent set up at the Farmer’s Market so that people could congregate and, well, knit! Quite a few people were intrigued by all the knitters and the two spinners who had brought their wheels. I brought my Estelle Cardigan with me to hopefully make some good progress on a sleeve. Well, I made progress. But then when I got home and tried it on, the sleeve was too big right under the arm. So riiiiip will go the sleeve. I had cast on a couple of extra stitches under the arm, because I thought the sleeves would be too tight otherwise. Apparently not.

I’ve also been prepping the craft room for painting!

Yes. My craft room is currently what I like to call, Home Depot Orange. Or, I suppose it was originally painted this color by an OSU fan. I brought home two paint samples a couple of days ago, and was really surprised by which one I liked more. I ended up not liking the lighter color at. all. It’s hard to see what the colors look like sitting next to the orange walls, but I held up some things that will be hanging on the walls and all of a sudden I loved the darker color more.

While I was washing the walls I realized a few things.

1. Ew. The walls were dirty. I now feel the need to scrub all of the walls in my house.

2. The previous owners were TERRIBLE painters. There are drip spots and I practically had to break all the outlet and light switch covers to get them off. The walls were either repainted between tenants while those were left on, or they put them back up before the paint was dry. Annoying.

3. Someone really liked to use thumbtacks in the walls. I had only noticed a couple and then I started washing the walls. I’m sure I missed patching at least a few. I tried to get them all, but every time I thought I had them all I’d find another one!

Let’s discuss #2 for a minute. I suppose this is part of what happens when you buy the house you’ve been renting. The seller has no reason to go through the house to touch up paint and make it look appealing for buyers. Our bedroom has wood trim around the pocket doors and there is definitely a healthy dose of sage green paint on it. Haven’t these people heard of painter’s tape?! There’s a similar situation going on outside as well. We have a door that goes from the laundry room into the backyard. The trim on the house is a dark green and theres a huge splotch on the outside of the door! We’ll deal with that when we paint the outside. Thankfully it’s in the back yard and no one really sees it.

Seth’s Dad is going to help me paint on Tuesday!

Well, I think that’s enough rambling for tonight! Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “There’s been knitting, too!

  1. Laura

    Liz, the shawl is BEAUTIFUL!!! I am so excited to see it in person. 🙂

Leave a Reply

