Finished Patio Pictures…Finally!

Let’s take a look at what the patio/porch used to look like, shall we?

And now…..

Now. I’ll be honest….the patio isn’t really that shiny. But when I went to take pictures, I realized that there were some glaring bird poop spots. And, well, we couldn’t have that! So I swept and hosed it down, and the shine does make for a lovely picture!

Notice anything different about the shed? No? Let me remind you…this is what the shed used to look like:

See it now?! It doesn’t stand out nearly as much. All it took was the hose and a big scrub brush. And a lot of elbow grease, of course. It looks a million times better, but we’re still planning on covering it with lattice and planting some climbing vines.

A big “THANK YOU!” to my father-in-law! We couldn’t have done it without him. Well, we probably could have…but it would have taken all summer, and it wouldn’t have looked nearly as professional!

Now…onto the crafting!

First up, a shawl for me:

Pattern: Scalene by Carina Spencer

Yarn: Three Irish Girls Kells Sport Merino in Canyon and Desert Sunset

Modifications: None. I followed the directions and numbers for sock weight yarn, but apparently my gauge was way off. And no, I didn’t knit a swatch. I rarely swatch for shawls, but in this case I probably should have! I should have been able to knit the entire thing with one skein of each color. Instead, I ran out of the purple after the first section and had to acquire another skein (thank goodness for lovely people on ravelry!). The shawl/scarf turned out MUCH larger than it was supposed to, but it will be nice and warm in the winter!

Scalene has a vertical slot as well as a horizontal slot and it can be worn in a variety of ways.

Next up, a shawl for Laura:

Pattern: Sarai by Vanessa Smith

Yarn: The Sanguine Gryphon Bugga! in Satin Green Forester

Modifications: This was my second time making this pattern, and I ran out of yarn before the end…again. However, the shawl is plenty big, and larger than the pattern measurements. It’s a very well-written, easy to follow pattern that knits up quite fast.

The color of this shawl is just stunning…the green practically glows.

I also did quite a bit of sewing this weekend for a custom order:

8 box bags and 4 notions bags for a lovely customer. She sent me the fabric and I sewed up all the bags!

Yup, those are skulls with knitting needles. Love it!

I just started a new shawl (apparently I’m on a shawl kick right now), and I’ll try and get some pictures of that once it’s a little bit bigger!

Hope you all had a lovely weekend and Happy Father’s Day to all the dad’s out there (including mine!!)!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

