Busy, Busy, Busy!

Seth’s Mom and Joe are  in town this week, so we’ve been busy sightseeing, picking strawberries, and working on the backyard landscaping! On Thursday we headed to the Oregon Garden to walk around and admire all the gorgeous flowers. The weather was perfect and we had a nice leisurely stroll around the park.

There was a duck family living in one of the ponds at the garden.

The flowers in bloom were amazingly gorgeous.

I love these fun yellow flowers! 

While Seth was at work on Friday, the rest of us went strawberry picking at one of the local U-Pick farms and ended up with about 25 lbs. of fresh strawberries! Seth’s Mom made a strawberry pie while I ran out to a local fiber festival (more on that later!). We froze a couple of gallon sized bags and we’ll be making jelly this week with the rest.

On Saturday we headed up to Portland to go to the Saturday Market. After wandering around for a bit and buying some local goodies, we all got in line for lunch. The guys ended up with tamales from Salvador Molly’s and the girls ended up with biscuits from Pine State Biscuits. Usually I go for the breakfast style biscuit with egg and cheese, but this time I decided to go big. My biscuit had buttermilk friend chicken, bacon, and cheese. It was also supposed to have gravy, but I opted for no gravy (I’m not a big gravy on biscuits fan).  Sooooo bad for me, but sooooo tasty. The bacon was thick and really crispy and the chicken was delicious! Yum. We also made the obligatory stop at Powell’s City of Books, and amazingly enough I left empty handed! There was also an attempted stop at VooDoo Donut, but the line was pretty far down the block. I did, however, get a picture of their new sign:

Now…more on that fiber festival I went to on Friday….

I’ve been wanting to try weaving for a while, and decided a few weeks ago that I wanted to invest in a loom. I wanted to wait until I could buy one in person, though, and avoid shipping charges. Since I knew that there would be looms at the Black Sheep Gathering, I took a quick drive down to pick up a loom. Of course, there were a couple of other purchases…but I’ll share those once I snap some photos.

After asking around on Ravelry, doing some online research, and talking to some folks at the fiber fest I decided on the 20″ Ashford Knitter’s Loom. The AKL is a rigid heddle loom that folds for easy transport and storage. The folding feature was important to me so that it doesn’t take up as much space.

So….today I completed my first weaving project!

Warping the loom

Close-up of the warp

The first few rows of the weft

Yarn: Three Irish Girls Carys BFL in “Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree”

Not bad for my first project, huh?!

The scarf turned out a bit shorter than I would have liked, but now I know for future projects that I need to make the warp longer. 

I think I’m really going to enjoy weaving!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

