Tour de Fleece Wrap Up

I managed to squeeze in a little bit of spinning during the last day of the Tour. A few months ago (probably more months ago than I’d like to admit!), I ordered some colorwork kits from Two if by Hand. The kits came with 2 ounces of 2 different colors, meant to be spun up separately and then knit together. I’ve been putting off spinning these because I wasn’t sure what I wanted to knit with them. I spun up half of one of the kits on Sunday:

Two if by Hand MCN (merino/cashmere/nylon) in Comfort

I ended up with a bit over 100 yards of worsted weight yarn. I still have to spin up the coordinating color, but I suspect they’ll become something Christmasy.

I finally snapped a photo of the llama fiber I spun up a couple weeks back…it softened up a TON after washing (it had to be washed three times because the wool was so dirty!):

My knitting needles saw quite a bit of action today, mostly prompted by the release of Brooklyn Tweed’s Wool People. A few knitting designers that I follow on twitter had tweeted links this morning, and of course I clicked. And then swooned over all the wooly goodness. Wool People is a collection of patterns all designed by different knitting designers and knit with Brooklyn Tweed’s Shelter yarn. I’m going to go ahead and assume that Jared Flood (the designer behind Brooklyn Tweed and Shelter Yarn) took all the photographs for the patterns (he’s a photographer as well as a knitting designer). The photographs are gorgeous and the patterns (with maybe one or two exceptions) are all things I can picture on my knitting needles. In particular, there are a couple of sweaters in the collection that I want to knit RIGHT. NOW. However, I promised myself I’d finish the sweater I have on the needles before purchasing yarn for another sweater. Well, that prompted a day filled with knitting and an entire sleeve’s worth of progress! I  think that my first Wool People sweater will be this one.

Anyways…here’s a not so great picture of the sweater-in-progress:

All that’s left is the feather-and-fan collar/front band and blocking! I don’t know why I waited so long to finish this sweater!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

