Estelle Cardigan and Roller Rink Toasts

I finally was able to get pictures of my latest knitting projects (it helps when your photographer has returned from a climbing trip and has the day off!).

First up, a sweater!

Pattern: Estelle Cardigan by Melissa LaBarre

Yarn: Quince & Co. Lark in Frank’s Plum

Modifications: The main modification I made was to move the waist ribbing down several inches. The pattern called for it to be about 2 inches from when you split the sleeves, but this was way too high for me. Trust me, it would not have been flattering! I think I started the ribbing around 5 inches after the sleeve split, which put it at the smallest part of my waist. The sweater grew quite a bit in length (but not at all in width) after blocking, so I tossed it in the dryer for about 10 minutes when it was almost dry. It shrunk back up to the size I wanted, and it fits perfectly. I may end up adding a hook and eye closure under the bust, just so I’m not constantly pulling on it.

I really enjoyed knitting with Lark, and would definitely use it again for a sweater.

Back view

Collar detail

The ladies from Two if by Hand are doing a “Knit Your Handspun KAL” over in their ravelry group for the month of August. I’ve been meaning to make a pair of handspun armwarmers for a while, so I decided to join in the handspun fun and knit up a pair this weekend.

Pattern: Toast by Leslie Friend

Yarn: MCN (merino/cashmere/nylon) handspun in Roller Rink spun by me and found in this post

Modifications: To say I made some modifications would be a slight understatement. I basically took the idea of the toast armwarmers and sort of did my own thing. I knit a gauge swatch and ended up with 18sts/4 inches on size 8 needles. I CO 30 stitches and increased 2 stitches every inch for 7 inches, and then continued knitting straight until the armwarmers measured 10 inches. The Toast pattern doesn’t call for any shaping and I knew if I made them large enough to fit my forearm, they would be huge at the wrist, which is why I added some shaping to them.

I wear 3/4 length sleeves a lot during the winter, but always find that my lower arms get a little chilly. These will be perfect for the wintertime to keep my arms warm without having to put on a whole other layer! 

I worked on my Camp Loopy Project #2 a bit tonight and will hopefully finish that up in the next couple of days! I’m in a total knitting groove right now, and I’m kind of loving it!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Estelle Cardigan and Roller Rink Toasts

  1. I love the arm warmers..totally cool.err warm idea for the quarter sleeves in the fall months!!
    You are really something special Ms. Liz!

Leave a Reply

