It’s Never Too Early….

….to be thinking about the holidays! I usually try and start my holiday gift crafting (usually knitting) in September or October. Since we haven’t been able to get home for Christmas the last 2 years, we’ve had to send gifts in the mail. Which, of course, means having everything ready a couple of weeks prior to Christmas to ensure that they’ll arrive on time. Well, not only will I be making gifts this year, but I’ll also (hopefully) be taking part in a craft fair at the hospital one town over (the one that Seth works at). So, I’m trying to get a jump start on deciding what to make to sell and of course figuring out Christmas gifts as well.

I’m planning on having some woven scarves for sale, so a few weeks ago I ordered several things from the new Three Irish Girls Collections. Yesterday afternoon I had wound up a skein of sock yarn from my stash and was pulling out the loom when the mail arrived. My July club shipment (which I’m also planning on weaving) as well as my other order was in my mailbox. I ripped open the packages and decided to use a couple of the skeins that had arrived instead of the skein I had pulled from my stash.

Apparently I was pretty excited, because I ended up warping the loom and weaving the entire scarf last night!

Yarn: Three Irish Girls Elenya Alpaca/Merino in Saltwater Taffy and Watermelon Chiffon

Details:  The scarf measures approximately 11 1/4″ wide and 82″ long including the fringe. I used two different, but coordinating colorways in the same base yarn. I warped the loom with Saltwater Taffy, which is a variegated yarn, and the weft was done in Watermelon Chiffon. I’m thrilled with the way it ended up looking striped lengthwise due to the way I used the yarn! To make my edges a little neater I doubled the outer threads and I used a hemstitch on each end of the scarf.

It can be worn a variety of ways, but I think my favorite is the way it’s laid out in the photo above. 

And here’s a photo of the rest of the yarn that arrived yesterday that I’ll be weaving up into scarves for the craft fair:

From L–>R: 2 skeins of Atlantis on Roslea Organic Merino, 2 skeins of Driftwood on Adorn, 1 skein of SkipJack on Adorn, and 1 skein of Willow Bark on Adorn

Gorgeous, right?!

In other news, we’ve made a second batch of blueberry jam and I also made some Banana Blueberry Muffins from a recipe that was on my friend Stacy’s blog the other day. Seth went and picked another 5 lbs. of blueberries while I was out running other errands, so we’ll have enough to freeze and possibly make some Blueberry Crumb Bars.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “It’s Never Too Early….

  1. Your gorgeous scarf is seriously making me want to learn how to weave.

  2. So glad you tried the muffins! I love blueberry season 🙂 That scarf is gorgeous and I’ve been meaning to tell you how much I enjoyed seeing the photos of your spinning wheel a few posts back – so neat!

Leave a Reply

