Purple Plucky Primo…

…is my newest obsession.

Gorgeous, right?!

I cast on last night for a Vine Loop  in some Plucky Knitter Primo Worsted, and it. is. awesome. I’m so glad I had the opportunity to purchase a sweater quantity during Sock Summit. It was nice to be able to see all the colors in person and pick out exactly what I wanted. And of course, I ended up with the two skeins that I’m using for the Vine Loop and 2 other skeins as well.

I finished my Current Cardigan the other day, blocked it yesterday, and found some buttons that I put on this afternoon. I’ll post more details and modeled shots later this week…but for now, here’s a detail shot:

The Cotton/Bamboo yarn has a wonderful drape and sheen to it.

I haven’t posted much about our garden this year, but we have a whole bed of goodies planted in our neighbor’s yard (she’s not using it and offered to let us use it!) which are doing FANTASTIC. Last year we tried to grow pumpkins and our lone pumpkin plant didn’t do very well. So we decided to buy a couple of starter plants this year and put them next door since they take up so much room. Well, wouldn’t you know it…they just took off and are growing like crazy. We have about 5 decent sized pumpkins out there, which is MORE than enough for us!

Pay no attention to the droopy leaves! It was hot today, and I took this right before I watered! 

I also planted a whole packet of green bean seeds next door in addition to planting 2 starter green bean bush plants. The seeds took forever to germinate and I didn’t think they were actually going to come up. A couple of weeks after planting them, a few of them came up all in one spot. So, I thinned them out and moved the extras down the garden bed a bit. Then all of a sudden a week later there were green bean plants EVERYWHERE. There are at least dozen plants, at all different stages. The two that I planted as starter plants have been producing green beans for a couple of weeks and I can hardly keep up with picking! Every time I think I’ve gotten them all, I see a few more.

I’m thinking we’re going to have to freeze a bunch once the other plants start producing beans! The veggies over in our yard are doing okay. We have tons of tomatoes, but they have yet to start turning red. A couple of our pepper plants are doing well, and so is the lettuce. Unfortunately, our zucchini keep dying before they’re large enough to pick…but I added some garden lime with calcium, so I’m hoping it’ll turn around. I really enjoyed being able to pull a bag of shredded zucchini out of the freezer and make zucchini bread during the winter months!

Well…I think that’s it for now! I’ll be posting some shop update previews tomorrow, but for now…back to the Plucky Primo!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Purple Plucky Primo…

  1. Kaitlin

    I want those green beans! They look delicious!

Leave a Reply

