Current Cardigan

If you had told me a couple of weeks ago that I would buy a sweater quantity of yarn at Sock Summit and have it knit into a sweater 2 weeks later, I wouldn’t have believed you. Especially considering that it was fingering weight yarn and this was my first sweater using a yarn this thin. Well, let’s get to it! I’ll warn you, I have a gazillion pictures of this sweater!

Pattern: Current by Cecily Glowik MacDonald

Yarn: Three Irish Girls Bamboo/Cotton Fingering in Shale Be Coming Around the Mountain

Modifications: My gauge was a bit off, but I liked the fabric that the size 6 needles gave me so I did a little recalculating with hopes that I could follow the directions for one size smaller. It ended up working out perfectly. I followed the directions for the size 32″ and ended up with a finished size of 35 1/2″. Because my gauge was off I also had to modify the waist decreases and increase. I knit for 2 inches before starting the side decreases so that the smallest part of the sweater would hit the smallest part of my waist (or at least closer than it would have!). For the side decreases, I did a decrease row every 6th row twice and every 4th row 3 times. When it was time to increase, I did increase rows every 4th row 5 times. I also had to modify the sleeve decreases. I decreased every 8th round twice and every 4th round 4 times. I also knit the sleeves about an inch longer than the pattern called for. Phew. I think that’s all the mods!

Let me talk a little bit about the yarn. This spring I was looking for some non-wool yarns to knit up some spring and summer handknits that wouldn’t be quite as warm as wool. I looked at several online shops and nothing really appealed to me. But then, Three Irish Girls announced that they would be releasing some non-wool bases at several retailers. I didn’t order from any of the online retailers because I hoped that Sharon would bring some of the new stuff to Sock Summit. And, of course, she did.

I hadn’t really planned on knitting up the fingering weight version so soon after returning from Sock Summit, but when I realized what a great pair the Current Cardigan and the Bamboo/Cotton would make, I cast-on right away.

I can’t say enough good things about the Bamboo/Cotton base. Cotton can be a little rough to knit with because it doesn’t have a lot of give. But this stuff was amazing. The bamboo gives it a lovely sheen and wonderful drape, while the cotton gives it a nice sturdiness and softness. The resulting garment is very light and drapes nicely. And of course, it’s soft on the skin.

I’ve knit several of Cecily’s designs (I think this is my 3rd?), and all of her patterns are exceptionally well written and this pattern is no exception. I’m a big fan of her top down designing as I find I can get a better fit since I can try the sweater on as I go. Her instructions are always clear and she writes her patterns for a wide range of sizes.

This cardigan is very wearable, and I love it’s versatility. It can be just as easily paired with a summer dress as it can with jeans and a t-shirt.

The little cables on the front bands and around the collar are a nice touch. Not too fussy, but interesting enough to keep your interest while you’re knitting it.

All in all, I’m very pleased with the way this turned out. I know I’ll get a ton of wear out of it and I love that I can just toss it in the washing machine on the gentle cycle.

How about one more parting picture?

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Current Cardigan

  1. Helena moss

    It’s lovely. Really lovely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

