Vine Loop

I have yet another project knit from yarn purchased at Sock Summit! This yarn to be exact:

It didn’t take me long to decide on a pattern, and it was a perfect small-ish project to work on between sweaters.

Pattern: Vine Loop by Melissa LaBarre

Yarn: The Plucky Knitter Primo in colorway Can Can

Modifications: I added 1 pattern repeat (24 stitches) when I cast on because I wanted it to be slightly longer than the pattern called for. I like to be able to wrap the cowl twice, but still have it hang down a bit. The pattern was really well written and it was easily memorized. It was very intuitive and after only a handful of rows, I was able to knit each round without looking at the pattern. The resulting cowl is really wearable and just plain cozy (except when it’s 90 degrees outside…).

note to self: modeling a wool cowl when the house is 80+ degrees = a terrible idea

The Plucky Primo was a dream to knit with. Seriously, this stuff is awesome. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that it’s 20% cashmere and that the color is stunning. I know I keep saying this…but I could have dropped a fortune at the Plucky booth at Sock Summit.

I was hoping to have some sewing to show you today, but it was just too hot to do much today. I wove up some really beautiful variegated yarn the other day, and I’m planning on sewing it up into a few kindle/nook cases for the shop. It was supposed to be a scarf….but more on that when the e-reader cases are done!

I mentioned a few posts back that we have more green beans than we know what to do with. Well, tonight I was determined to use up a good chunk of them for dinner and made a favorite Rachel Ray recipe of ours.

Chicken Salad Piccata

I know…it doesn’t look like many green beans are in there, but I assure you they were hiding. I skipped the parsley in the recipe, but there are capers…also hiding. It’s such a great summer recipe. I ate mine hot, but it’s just as good cold and straight out of the fridge. Or at least that’s what Seth said when he got home from work tonight.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Vine Loop

  1. Pingback: Got Jam? | Grey Poodle Designs

Leave a Reply

