A little bit of Paris

No, unfortunately I didn’t take a weekend long trip to Paris or anything crazy like that! But I did just finish a knitting project with yarn inspired by Paris dyed by Three Irish Girls.

Pattern: Multnomah by Kate Elsa – sort of (see Mods)

Yarn: Three Irish Girls Glenhaven Cashmerino Worsted in Parisienne (variegated) and Eiffel Tower (semi-solid)

Modifications: Many. Let’s see….the pattern calls for fingering weight yarn and I used worsted weight and size 10 needles. I began the pattern just like the directions in Multnomah and knitted the body until I ran out of Parisienne and had 199 stitches. Then I decided I didn’t want to do the feather and fan border, and that I wanted a ribbed border instead. So I did an increase row and kfb (knit front and back) in every third stitch. I knit in 2×2 rib for 2 inches and bound off in pattern. I kept the YO increases down the center through the ribbing. So it’s a Multnomah, but not.

I wanted a small shawlette that I can just wrap around my neck. Anything larger would be too heavy in worsted weight garter stitch, I think. 

The Eiffel Tower grey is gorgeous….I can see a sweater quantity of this in my future.

Since my spinning mojo has apparently returned, I also spun up some really pretty fiber from a new-to-me dyer.

Bee Mice Elf BLF/Silk in Stormy

I ended up with about 500 yards of fingering-weight singles. This will likely be headed for the etsy shop soon.

Apparently it was a crafty sort of day here, as I also finished a woven scarf:

Three Irish Girls Adorn in Driftwood

And now for a couple pictures of everyone’s favorite grey poodle:

Now, Sailor doesn’t typically make a habit of sitting on our bed. He doesn’t sleep with us, but is allowed up if only one of us is in the bed. The other morning he hopped up in bed with me when Seth was getting ready for work. A little while after I got up, I went back in the bedroom to see what he was up to (and to make sure he was staying out of trouble!) since I heard him barking. He was sitting at the head of the bed, resting his chin on the windowsill!

Goofy Dog….he loves looking out the window and keeping tabs on the neighborhood!

Hopefully I’ll have some sweater progress to show next time!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A little bit of Paris

  1. Pingback: Got Jam? | Grey Poodle Designs

Leave a Reply

