Got Jam?

Apparently, we do.

46 jars to be exact. And that’s not counting any of the ones that Seth has already eaten or that we’ve given away. Today we made 2 more batches of jam….strawberry and strawberry/blackberry. If there’s a jam crisis of some sort, we’ll have more than enough to share!

I also did a huge amount of sewing today. There’s a new yarn shop called Stash coming to town, and I’ve very pleased to announce that they’ll be carrying my quilted project bags! I’ll also be making some smaller drawstring bags for single skein projects. I pieced together 6 quilted project bags today:

There are many familiar fabrics, but some new ones too!

I recently picked up a whole bunch of Lizzy House fabrics from both her 1001 Peeps line and Red Letter Day line. I’ve been itching to break into them, so today I used some of them!

I love the genies!! 

the ducks in the middle are from the Red Letter Day line and the outside fabric is something I had in my stash

I’m excited to see all the bags completed!

There’s also been a bit of knitting going on….a ravelry friend just gave birth to her first baby this morning, and I finished up a little baby vest just in time.

Pattern: Milo by Georgie Hallam

Yarn: Handspun yarn from Two if By Hand’s Organic Merino in “Life is a Session”

Modifications: My yarn was a little bit heavier than the pattern called for. I followed the directions for the 3 month size and ended up with something between the 3 and 6 month size. This is why I love baby knits. The baby will grow into it at some point!

The cable doesn’t pop as much as I’d like, but the handspun is so pretty knit up!

Last night I decided to cast on for a hat using the leftovers from my most recent shawl and cowl:

I’m in love with the color combination. Both yarns are Merino/Cashmere/Nylon, so although the weight is slightly different they seem to be working well together. The pattern is really addictive…speaking of which, I’m off to go work on it for a while!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

