You might want to put on some sunglasses

I have finished spinning the retina-searing yarn for my dear friend Aimee. I sort of lost spinning steam after the Tour de Fleece, but finally finished this today.

If you have those sunglasses handy, now would be the time to put them on:

The yarn is a whole lot brighter in person. It was playing tricks on my camera and didn’t want to be photographed in all it’s electric yellow glory. I think the light meter in the camera was over compensating for the brightness of the yarn, so the whole picture turned out a bit dark.

360-ish yards of electric yellow craziness

I mentioned in one of my recent posts that I’m going to be selling my project bags (and handspun) at a new yarn shop that’s opening up in town. Well, I’ve also been working on a sample knit for the shop in some yummy Shibui sock yarn.

Any ideas what this odd shaped thing could possibly be? 

It’s a baby sweater! 

I’ll post all the details when it’s finished (which will hopefully be soon!)…but so far it’s a really easy, peasy project.

Of course, there’s been lots of other crafting going on around these parts. Including a little bit of weaving with some Three Irish Girls yarn:

And some yarn wreath making:

In the midst of our heat wave last week, I decided that I needed a fall-inspired project to keep my mind off the fact that I was sweating profusely by just sitting in one spot. I had a few other things I needed to pick up at Jo-Ann’s, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that all their fall decorating supplies were 40% off. Score! So I picked up a few along with some fall colored felt and a straw wreath. I used this tutorial on the three irish girls blog. Though, truth be told, I didn’t actually look at the tutorial this time around since I’ve already made these before!

This wreath is quite a bit larger than the last ones I made, and I ended up using an entire skein of worsted weight yarn to cover it. I’ll be hanging this on our front door once I get some matching ribbon, and I think it’ll look great hanging there throughout the fall!

And of course we’ve also been trying to keep up with the massive amount of green beans our garden is producing as well as the tomatoes and fresno peppers!

We’ve managed to make another 1/2 batch of dilly beans and still have plenty of green beans to spare! The plants are showing no signs of slowing down, either! I’ve hung the fresno peppers up in the kitchen to let them dry so that we can use them this winter:

Why yes, that is a piece of yarn that they are tied to. 😉 Speaking of food…time to go make some dinner (and use up some more of those green beans!).

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “You might want to put on some sunglasses

  1. OMG! I love that wreath! You’ve inspired me 😉

  2. You have been busy! It all looks great. And now I want dilly beans…

Leave a Reply

