Rhinebeck Recap!

Phew! I’ve been away from the blog for far too long! But I certainly had a good reason or two!

I flew out to upstate NY a couple of weeks ago so that I could drive down to the NY Sheep and Wool Festival with my Mom and her friend Teena. We met up with my good friend Aimee on Friday night and spent the night hanging with the other knitters and plotting our shopping plan for Saturday.

To say we shopped ’til we dropped is a severe understatement! Our first stop was the Spirit Trail Fiberworks booth. I ended up picking out a gorgeous skein of merino/cashmere fingering weight yarn and a braid of merino/cashmere/silk spinning fiber:

One of our (I’m pretty sure I can speak for Aimee, my Mom and Teena!) favorite vendors was Miss Babs. I was looking for a sweater quantity of an earthy tone to make the Gnarled Yoke Cardigan from the new Coastal Knits book. My first Miss Babs purchase was 3 skeins of “Yowza! Whatta Skein”

The skeins are actually a bit less red and more burgundy. I’m really excited to start the sweater, although I need to finish my Rhinebeck sweater that didn’t quite get finished in time for Rhinebeck!

We loved the Miss Babs booth so much that we went back later in the afternoon and I ended up purchasing a few more things:

Miss Babs Yummy Shadows Sock & Baby Yarn for a Catkin 

Miss Babs Yummy Hand-Painted Sport and Sock yarn and Yet Lace Weight yarn (merino/silk) for a Blackcurrent Shawl 

Another vendor that I was really impressed with was Into the Whirled. I had a really hard time not picking one of everything off the shelves! After much deliberation, I narrowed it down to 2 braids of fiber…one merino and one falkland:

Aimee and I found some awesome self-striping Halloween sock yarn at Blue Ridge Yarns…the plan is to have matching socks for Rhinebeck next year. I, personally, am thinking I might try and whip up a pair in time for Halloween next week (crazy? yes.).

At lunch time we took a trip out to the car to eat some lunch and leave our morning purchases in the car. Afterwards we headed over to the Knitspot lunchtime meet-up to say hello to my cousin Anne.

Anne Hanson of Knitspot, me, and Aimee (omg. my hair is a DISASTER!)

We made sure to spend a little bit of time strolling through the sheep barns and checking out all the cute sheep.

One of the most popular vendors was The Sanguine Gryphon. We didn’t actually do any shopping at their booth since there was over an hour wait to pay:

This was the line to pay at the SG booth!

After shopping all day we headed back to the hotel, ordered some pizza and browsed patterns on ravelry!

There has been some knitting and now that I’m back home I’m going to be working on some project bags for a big update in the next few weeks! Stay tuned for details!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

