Happy Halloween!

Pattern: Loosely based on the AfterThought Heel Socks by Laura Linneman

Yarn: Blue Ridge Yarns in a Merino/Silk (70/30) blend

Modifications: I knit for 4 inches before placing the scrap yarn for the afterthought heel. After placing the scrap yarn, I decreased 8 stitches (2 on each needle) to make the foot more form fitting. I also did less decreases on the afterthought heel because I found that as written, they were a bit too large.

I knit these in just under a week and finished them just in time to be festive today!

I think I need a pair for every major holiday! In holiday appropriate colors, of course.

I seriously missed my spinning wheel when I was away, and I just finished spinning up a lovely braid of fiber today:

Padfoot on Polwarth dyed by Two if by Hand 

Approximately 275 yards of dk-ish weight yarn

I was hoping to have my Shadow sweater finished by now…but I’ve run into a few problems. First of all, I had some issues with the collar and had to undo and reknit it. THEN, there’s the issue of the really bulky seams. I need to pull out all of the seaming and find some light weight (and stronger) yarn to seam with. Here’s a quick shot of what it looks like right now (in a big pile):

 I really think I’m going to love it…but it is certainly trying my patience!

I have a couple of other things on the needles, but those should be done and blog worthy in a few days!

Have a Happy and Safe Halloween!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Happy Halloween!

  1. Aimee

    Now I cannot wait to make my socks. Going onto the very long things I need to knit list, but I promise they will be done for Rhinebeck next year!

Leave a Reply

