Small Things Sweater

One of Seth’s coworkers and his wife are expecting their first baby in early January. The office baby shower is tomorrow, and of course I was right down to the wire with my gift knitting despite being given plenty of advance notice!

Pattern: Small Things Sweater by Carina Spencer

Yarn: HiKoo Simplicity (a Superwash/acrylic/nylon blend)

Modifications: None! The pattern is perfect as written and includes several different options for the sleeves.

The adorable fabric-covered buttons were purchased at Stash and are made by a local artist, Ladybug Limited

I had a whole skein of yarn leftover, so I decided to whip up a little bonnet to go with the sweater:

Pattern: Baby Bonnet by Joelle Hoverson from More Last Minute Knitted Gifts

Yarn: Same as the Baby Sweater 🙂

Modifications: I held some dk weight yarn doubled instead of using a heavier weight yarn. My row gauge was way off, so instead of knitting straight for 3 inches after all the increases (and before starting the decreases) I only knit straight for about an inch. The “More Last Minute Knitted Gifts” book has so many great patterns, and this one is no exception. The directions are easy to follow and the hat knit up in far less time than the book predicts.

Baby knits are so satisfying….They’re quick and seriously cute!

My Mom is arriving for a visit tomorrow with a new addition to their canine family (her name is Emi…I’ll be sure to take tons of pictures), so I’m sure I’ll have lots to update with in a few days!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

