Happy New Year!

I hope everyone’s 2012 is off to a great start! I thought I’d ring in the new year by showing off my last few knits from 2011! There are a few…so let’s get started!

Pattern: Ragtop by Susan Lawrence

Yarn: Three Irish Girls Glenhaven Cashmerino Worsted in Eiffel Tower

Mods: None! I’ve worked with Glenhaven before, so I knew these would turn out super luxurious feeling and be really warm. These were a gift for one of my cousins, though this was another gift that was tough to give up!

The Ragtop pattern was very easy to follow and has a very well-fitting thumb gusset. I love the long ribbing at the cuff that you can tuck inside your jacket!

Next up is a hat I made for one of the people who was watching Sailor while we were back on the east coast. She took him for extra walks and made sure he got plenty of exercise while we were away! I dug through my stash and found the perfect yarn to make a nice and cozy hat!

Pattern: Rathcooney by Carol Feller from Contemporary Irish Knits

Yarn: Madelinetosh Tosh Merino DK in Fig

Mods: I used a lighter-than-called-for yarn, but was getting gauge (or pretty close to gauge) so no mods were needed. I think I ended up making the middle size and it fit me perfectly and would easily accommodate a smaller or larger head circumference.

I got Contemporary Irish Knits as a Christmas gift and I was glad to be able to pull something from my stash and make use of the book so quickly. There are a whole host of great patterns in the book and I’ll definitely be pulling it out on a regular basis.

Now…the next handknit was a gift for Seth’s Dad. He likes wearing skull cap style hats and Seth had a design idea he wanted me to try. While we were flying back to the east coast, Seth charted out the design and I swatched and re-swatched until we came up with something he liked. I’m going to make a longer version for Seth and when I do, I’ll think about writing up a pattern for it.

Pattern: Seth’s design!

Yarn: Becoming Art Cielo Sport

The Cielo Sport was wonderful to work with and I think I should have enough to eek out another hat for Seth. If not, I’ll snag another skein at Stash!

Are you tired of looking at handknits yet? Just one more, I promise! This next one is actually something I’m keeping! My cousin Anne released a new hat pattern while I was deep in the midst of Christmas knitting. I promptly ordered the yarn that she had used and promised myself that as soon as my gifts were completed I’d make myself a new hat. Well, I sort of cheated a bit. My parents’ gifts weren’t done in time for Christmas, but I couldn’t resist casting-on a couple of days after Christmas. We took Sailor on a short hike today and Seth snapped some photos while we were out.

Pattern: Fartlek by Knitspot

Yarn: Spirit Trail Holda (lambswool/cashmere/angora) in Winter Solstice

Modifications: None. My hat came out a bit less slouchy that the pattern samples, but I knit a smallish size and haven’t blocked it yet. I actually love the way it fits and it kept my head toasty warm while we were hiking today.

The pattern was, of course, easy to follow and fun to knit. And the yarn was AH-mazing. It’s super soft, but knits up into a nice dense (but not stiff) fabric that is perfect for this hat. Seth took a gazillion photos because it was so gorgeous in the Old Growth forest today, but I’ll only make you look at one or two more!

Happy New Year!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

