Handspun Shawl

I’ve recently regained my spinning mojo and have decided I need to actually keep some of my handspun and knit with it (crazy concept, right?!)! A couple of weeks ago, I pulled out an especially luxurious braid of Two if by Hand Merino/Cashmere/Silk in Bombshell. I forgot to snap a picture of the braid of fiber, but it was spun up over the course of a few hours (this stuff is heavenly to spin!) and I had this gorgeous skein of yarn:

I ended up with about 250 yards of a dk-weight yarn and went searching on Ravelry for a small shawl pattern of some sort that would show off the gorgeous colors of the handspun. This yarn was such a joy to knit with that I ended up finishing this project in about 3 days. It was totally addictive to see what colors would pop up next while I was knitting! It didn’t hurt that the yarn was pretty luxurious, either.

Pattern: The Age of Brass and Steam Kerchief  by Orange Flower

Yarn: My own handspun – MCS in Bombshell

Modifications: None. I followed the pattern exactly as written. In hindsight, I probably could have squeezed out another row or two but I would have hated to run out of yarn halfway through the bind-off!

I wore it to work today, and it makes a great little cozy shawlette to keep my neck warm! 

In other knitting news, I cast-on for a new sweater a couple of days ago with some gorgeous yarn I bought this summer. I’ll try and remember to get some pictures of that to show you in a few days!

Well, I think that’s it for now….off to go work on that sweater!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

