Iceling Baby Set

One of our camp friends, Amanda, is expecting her first baby at the end of February. Since she lives in Minnesota, she asked if I would make her little guy a sweater to wear after he arrives to keep him warm during the long Minnesota winter (and probably through some of spring!). Of course I said yes! I’ll take any excuse to knit adorable baby things! I wanted a cardigan so that it would be easier to get on/take off as well as something that was manly enough for a wee little boy. I found a perfect pattern that came with directions for a matching hat, so of course I had to make the set (his little head needs to stay warm, too!).

Pattern:Iceling Sweater and Hat by Carol Feller

Yarn: Dream in Color Classy in Happy Forest

Modifications: None!

I just love the buttons! This sweater sat in my craft room waiting for buttons for over a week. I wanted something fun and when the Wooly Moss Roots buttons arrived at Stash, I knew they’d be perfect! And the little matching hat is pretty cute, I think:

Adorable, right?!

I also have another gift knit to share. This is for the friend of a ravelry friend’s daughter who was recently diagnosed with Leukemia. I found some super duper soft yarn and made a slouchy hat that she can also wear with the brim flipped up for more of a beanie look.

Pattern: The Big Easy by Vivian Aubrey

Yarn: Three Irish Girls Bamboo Cotton Worsted in “How Not to Dry the Dishes”

Modifications: The yarn has a fair amount of drape to it due to the bamboo content, so I used one needle size smaller than the pattern required for the stockinette section of the hat. The felt flower is from Frabjous Fibers purchased at Stash. I also included a blue flower with the hat in case Emma wants to mix things up a bit.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Iceling Baby Set

  1. Stacy

    O.M.G. Would you LOOK at that teeny cardigan? I want to smoosh it, it’s so cute 🙂 Nicely done!

  2. That sweater is so very sweet!

Leave a Reply

