Featherweight Cardigan

Awhile back (ahem, november, ahem), Sonia (the owner of Stash) asked if I would knit a lace weight cardigan for the shop. Of course, I agreed, since the pattern was simple and straightforward and the yarn was GORGEOUS. I honestly thought this would be done fairly quickly. It wasn’t. I had a disagreement with one of the sleeves which had me start and stop the same sleeve at least 3 times. Once that sleeve was finally finished and I moved onto the second sleeve, the sweater was done in a mere few days. Anyways, it’s now finished and I even have photos to prove it!

Pattern: Featherweight Cardigan by Hannah Fettig

Yarn: Sweet Georgia SeaSilk Lace in Tourmaline

Modifications: Since this was a shop sample I made very few modifications. I wouldn’t have many any, except that when I went to start the first sleeve I had a huge gaping hole when I picked up the amount of stitches called for in the pattern. I knit a few rows somehow thinking it would magically go away (it didn’t…shocking, I know), and when it didn’t I ripped back to before I picked the stitches up and tried again. This time I picked up more stitches than called for and decreased to the correct number on the following row. All good, right? Wrong. The underarm looked great, but after a few rows I realized there was a stitch that not been unpicked correctly, and I had to drop the stitch down a few rows to fix it. The other issue I was having was with my needle choice. I was using my Addi Lace Clicks, and while I generally love them, the lace yarn was snagging in the join. I happened to have a set of 24″ size 6 Addi lace needles and once I switched to those things went MUCH smoother! literally. The only other modification I made was to the front band. I was so close to being able to finish the sweater with one skein, it seemed kind of silly to break into a second skein if I didn’t need to. I cut the band short by about 1/2 an inch. After binding off, I realized I probably could have gotten a few more rows out of the yarn, but it would have been really annoying to run out on the bind-off! I knit the sweater to the specifications in the pattern, but it grew like crazy length-wise. It ended up about 2″ longer than the pattern calls for, but it still looks nice.

Let’s talk about the yarn for a minute, shall we? The Sweet Georgia SeaSilk Lace is made from 60% seacell and 40% silk. The blend takes the dye beautifully and the yarn has a wonderful sheen to it. Knitting lace weight yarn on larger needles in stockinette stitch was a new experience for me. At first I was really frustrated because my stitches looked sooooo uneven. It was making me crazy. But blocking is magical. I had my doubts, but my stitches appeared much more even after soaking and blocking. And the yarn totally transformed. Don’t get me wrong, it was lovely before I soaked it. But the drape is amazing and it has a wonderful light and silky feel. My only complaint? The yarn bled. A lot. Strangely enough, it didn’t bleed on my hands as I was knitting with it, but it bled like crazy when I washed it. Not a huge deal since I only used one color and I would never wash it with anything else. However, I can see it being a problem if someone wanted to pair it with a lighter colored yarn in a project.

The pattern was very well written with easy to follow instructions, which is always awesome!

The other exciting thing going on a casa de grey poodle is that we’re adding a bathroom to our house! My father-in-law is here to help us turn our laundry room into a laundry room/full bathroom! I forgot to take a picture before we started tearing it apart, but here’s a pretty good representation of it:

There was a cabinet above the counter and there was a carpet on the floor. 

Those pics make it look pretty scary. It wasn’t quite that bad. I’ll be sure to post updates as we go!

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

