Julissa

Pattern: Julissa by Vanessa Smith

Yarn: The Plucky Knitter Primo in Bohemian Blue

Modifications: My modifications were mostly based on my differing gauge and tailoring the pattern for my body. My gauge was 20sts/4 inches instead of 18sts/4″, so I went through the entire pattern and changed the stitch counts to accommodate for my difference in gauge. Instead of 3 waist decreases, I only did 2 and then did 2 increases for the hips instead of 3. I probably could have done all 3, but I didn’t want it to be too tight around the middle. For the sleeves I picked up a few extra stitches and made them about an inch shorter than the pattern called for.

sigh. I’m in love with Plucky Primo. Primo is a merino/cashmere/nylon blend (75/20/5) that has amazing stitch definition and is totally cozy. The cables really pop, which I love, and the fabric is perfect for a sweater. And of course, the color is gorgeous. I picked up this yarn during Sock Summit last summer and had been searching for the perfect sweater for months! Then, Julissa was published and I knew it would be a perfect fit. I did have a little trouble when I went to knit the sleeves. The 6 skeins that I had weren’t a perfect match, and I ended up ripping out about 6 inches of sleeve knitting because the skein I was using was obviously lighter in color. Thankfully, I knew I had extra yarn and would be able to finish the sweater without using that skein. Unfortunately, the sweater was put in the “time-out” pile for a while before I was able to move past the sadness of having to rip out several hours worth of knitting! But, it was well worth it in the end since I LOVE the finished sweater.

The pattern was exceptionally well-written (as are all of Vanessa’s patterns) and had some really nice touches. One of these being that Vanessa left a spot for notes, which I fully utilized! Since I was doing a little math to change the stitch counts, it was nice to have a place right on the pattern to draw out a little diagram and plan my changes. She also had a good reminder about writing down which cable round you ended on before splitting for the sleeves! While I probably could have figured it out from reading my knitting, it was nice to have it written down so that I could dive right into sleeve knitting. Vanessa has some really lovely patterns, and I’ll definitely be knitting more of them!

I honestly couldn’t be happier with this sweater!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Julissa

  1. anastasiawraight

    That is absolutely lovely! I love the design and color of your sweater.

Leave a Reply

