Wurm Hat…and some aprons!

There’s been tons of sewing and knitting around these parts (and some spinning, too!) lately. I’ve been branching out with my sewing, which has been really fun! I made my very first skirt, which I’ll post pictures of as soon as I get some and made some really fun aprons. I’m hoping to make a dress at some point and even have fabric and a pattern all picked out. Which brings me to the knitting portion of the blog post….our friend Judy offered to help me with the dress in exchange for knitting her a hat! A friend of hers who is a knitter was wearing a hat she liked and she found out the pattern name, picked out some yarn and I knit it up for her.

Pattern: Wurm by Katharina Nopp

Yarn: Madelinetosh Tosh Sport in Clematis

Modifications: I cut out one repeat because the hat was getting quite long and I was running out of yarn!

What a fun pattern! I love that the brim of the hat is doubled and doesn’t require a provisional cast-on in order to achieve this feature. The pattern was easily memorized and didn’t require much attention besides counting rows every so often. The yarn, of course, was glorious to work with. I’ve knit with several of the Madelinetosh bases before, but the Tosh Sport was new to me. It has a nice tight twist and has fantastic stitch definition.

Onto the aprons!

Not too long ago Sonia and I were chatting about what we could do to stand out at the shop so that customers could immediately identify who worked there. We tossed some ideas around and not too long afterwards a ravelry friend posted an adorable utility apron she made. She made it for a fiber festival that she was attending as a vendor and I immediately messaged her to find out where she got the pattern! She pointed me towards this tutorial and I immediately sent the link to Sonia. After a lot of fabric browsing, we finally settled on some Michael Miller fabrics (from the Red & Aqua line…they just happen to be the shop colors!).

We decided to go with 2 different designs for the 4 aprons.

I made the ties longer than the pattern calls for so that we could tie them in front.

Little tab for hanging things.

And because other crafters out there will totally relate to this….

Multitasking at it’s finest. Keeping warm with Dancette and trying to get pictures of the aprons and Wurm hat before the sun went down.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Wurm Hat…and some aprons!

  1. I wear my Wooly Bully apron at the shop sometimes but your aprons are so much cuter! Love the Sailor butt In the last photo, hee hee.

Leave a Reply

