Spring Garden Tee and a TDF Update!

I’ve been knitting and spinning my fingers off lately and I have quite a few things to show off as a result! The Tour de Fleece has been going on, and while I haven’t made too much progress with my spinning I have finished a couple of skeins of yarn!

Left: Nuclear Pie on Falkland, Top Right: Boardwalk on SW Merino, Bottom Right: Heather Violet on Organic Merino – all fiber by Two if by Hand

I’ve also been participating in the Summer KAL at Stash, and recently finished my Spring Garden Tee!

Pattern: Spring Garden Tee by Alana Dakos

Yarn: Be Sweet Bamboo in Light Aqua

Modifications: I made the top several inches shorter than the pattern calls for since I wanted a tee instead of a tunic. However, the 100% bamboo yarn grew quite a bit and I now have a tunic length top! I picked up all the underarm stitches and did edging just as I did for the neck. I had hoped that this would prevent the armholes from stretching out too much. I ended up leaving out a couple of raglan increases in order to make the finished chest measurement slightly smaller to account for the stretch I knew would happen. The last mod I made was to add a lace hem to the bottom of the top (I used the lace pattern from the sleeves).

Lace detail at the hem.

The Be Sweet Bamboo makes a lovely, drapey fabric…though, I don’t think I’d ever use it for an adult garment again. I do think I’ll get a lot of wear out of the top, but it definitely stretched over the course of the day wearing it. That said, it’d be lovely for lighter, summery accessories or baby/toddler/child tops!

Last weekend, our friend Laura was in Portland on a little West Coast adventure. We took her to Cannon Beach, Tillamook Cheese Factory, the Portland Saturday Market, and had a little knitting lesson!

Anyone recognize Haystack rock from the movie The Goonies?! 

I just cast-on for several new projects, so I’ll be back soon with progress pics of those and another TDF update!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Spring Garden Tee and a TDF Update!

  1. Lovely yarn. Pretty top.

  2. That yarn! Gosh! Tres envious of the person who gets the lovely privilege of laying needle or hook to those beauties.

Leave a Reply

