Schoodic, Finally!

Oh, Schoodic Cardigan, why on earth did it take so long to finish you? I’m not the fastest sweater knitter ever, but I’m typically not this slow either! I started this cardigan back in early September as part of a sweater Knit-Along with Stash. I started out strong, but then got tripped up after realizing I messed up the cables when I was 4″ or so into the body. I decided to leave it as-is, but was annoyed with myself which led to the sweater WIP sitting in a corner for a bit while I worked on other things. Determined to finish by the KAL end date, I packed it up to bring with us on our trip back east. Thankfully, I had packed the rest of my yarn since we ended up being here a bit longer than anticipated! It was a great project to work on during those long days at the hospital and before I knew it I had a new sweater!

Pattern: Schoodic Cardigan by Hannah Fettig

Yarn: The Fibre Company Acadia (a merino/baby alpaca/silk blend) in Oyster

Mods: I unintentionally changed the cable pattern a bit! Besides making some length changes to the body and sleeves, I knit the pattern exactly as written.

In the short time since I’ve finished this, it has become a staple in my wardrobe. And not just because I only have a small selection of clothes here with me or because I’ve been dealing with the northeast winter weather! Schoodic is a great cardigan to toss over a long sleeve tee and looks equally good with jeans as with yoga pants (another wardrobe staple as of late!).

The yarn was incredible to work with and I love the tweedy look of the silky yarn slubs. It has beautiful drape and just enough wool content to keep it’s shape.

My needles have been clicking away while Seth recovers, so I’ll have more to share soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

